The Most Incredible Mud Cake Ever!

Image

Let’s face it, it’s been ages since I’ve been in the kitchen. Life has become incredibly busy, and I simply don’t get the time to cook that I once used to. It was foodfilanderer jnr’s 13 birthday a few weeks ago, and I fully intended on making him a mud cake to celebrate, but time got away from me and I ended up buying one from the local Austrian patisserie (bad move – it was expensive and disappointing).

I’ve felt somewhat guilty ever since then, so I decided to make amends this long weekend. I searched the net for the best Thermomix mud cake recipe I could find, and I believe I struck gold with this one!

This is, without doubt, the best mud cake I have ever made. Believe me. I think my husband and son love me just a bit more after eating this! And can I tell you a secret? It was so easy, it’s criminal.

I’ve borrowed the recipe from the official Thermomix forum, but I’ve amalgamated some of the tips from the comments into the original recipe. You will seriously not be disappointed.

Cake ingredients

250g dark chocolate (broken into pieces)
250g butter (room temperature)
1 tablespoon instant coffee
100g water
100g Cointreau (or port, bourbon, or other liqueur)
340g plain flour
30g cocoa
1/2tsp bicarb (baking) soda
490g sugar (I used raw sugar)
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp vanilla bean paste
150g buttermilk
1 heaped teaspoon baking powder
4 eggs large

Ganache ingredients

100g dark chocolate (broken into pieces)
80g thickened cream

Method

1. Preheat oven to 160C (fan forced) and grease a deep 23cm round tin. Line the tin with baking paper.
2. Place chocolate, butter, coffee, sugar, water, and liqueur in TM bowl. Cook at 90C for 3 1/2 mins at Speed 2. Scrape the sides of the bowl.
3. Add the remaining ingredients (except eggs) to the TM bowl. Mix 30 secs at speed 4.
4. With blades running just below Speed 3, add the eggs and mix for a further 1 minute.
5. Scrape down the sides of the bowl, and mix for another 30 seconds at Speed 4.
6. Pour mixture into prepared pan.
7. Reduce oven temperature to 120C, and bake the cake for 3 hours, or until a skewer comes out semi clean. You don’t want the skewer to be completely dry, but not completely wet either. A little tacky is probably best.
8. Remove cake from oven, and allow to cool in the pan.
9. When the cake has cooled to room temperature, remove it from the pan. The top surface of the cake will probably have a crunchy crust, which you may wish to trim off carefully.
10. Wrap the cake in a layer or two of cling film and a layer or two of foil and put it in the fridge for as long as possible before icing. Overnight if possible!
11. To make the ganache, add the chocolate to the TM bowl and grate at Speed 9 for 30 seconds.
12. Add the cream and cook at 37C for 2 minutes on Speed 5. You may need to scrape down the sides and stir for another 30 seconds at Speed 5.
13. Turn the cake upside down to give a flat surface for icing. Pour the ganache over the cake and smooth with a spatula.
14. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving.
15. Serve with fresh berries and cream, and revel in all of the compliments you will receive!!

Image 1

About foodfilanderer

Enthusiastic about great food. Dedicated to posting great Thermomix recipes.
This entry was posted in Thermomix Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Most Incredible Mud Cake Ever!

  1. Silvia says:

    awesome recipe. The cake turned out beautifully. Made it for a birthday and everyone loved it! Followed the recipe, except I used half the amount of sugar (I prefer cakes to be less sweet) and orange juice instead of Cointreau. It was delicious.

  2. Tanya says:

    made this for my sons superman cake it was fantastic – kids and parents both loved it!

  3. Deyel Fallows says:

    Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I have made it twice now and it is now our go-to family favourite!

  4. Justin Miller says:

    i love this recipe its perfect overtime, so many people rave about it!!! i was wanting to make a white chocolate mud cake do you have a similar receive or know how i could convert it?
    thanks

  5. Renee says:

    Would this be ok to freeze for a few days before icing? Do you think it’s Suitable for fondant as well?

Leave a Reply

