Pumpkin and Spinach Risotto

Every second Friday I take delivery of a mystery box of organic fruit and vegies from Victoria Organic Delivery.  My next delivery is arriving tomorrow, so basically all I had left to use tonight was some pumpkin.

I decided to make a risotto using the Thermomix.  I had made a mushroom risotto in it during the first couple of days of receiving it, but I wasn’t entirely happy with the result.  I felt it was a little gluggier than what I’d usually make by hand.

The recipe I’d used came from the default cookbook that comes with the machine, the Every Day Cookbook.  I knew the Thermomix can make fantastic risotto, as my consultant had made a great one at my in house demonstration.  Thus, I decided to hunt around the Internet around for a better recipe.  After a little search, I found this mushroom risotto recipe at Forum Thermomix, and decided to give it a go.  Obviously I substituted the mushroom for pumpkin, and added some spinach at the end.

On to the recipe….

Pumpkin and Spinach Risotto – Serves between 4-6 people

Ingredients

  • 50g parmesan, cut into large cubes
  • 1 medium brown onion, cut in half
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 50g extra virgin olive oil
  • 400g arborio rice
  • 100g dry white wine (I used Sauvignon Blanc)
  • 250g pumpkin, cut into large cubes
  • 1-2 tbsp vegetable stock concentrate (from the Every Day Cookbook)*
  • 1000g water*
  • 150g baby spinach
  • Sea salt and black pepper

* You could substitute 1000g of liquid stock for the water and stock concentrate.

Method

1.  Place the pumpkin on a baking tray with some oil and bake in a 200C oven until soft (around 15-20 minutes). Alternatively, you could add your raw pumpkin into the Thermomix at Step 11.

2.  Weigh the parmesan in the Thermomix.



3.  Pulverise the parmesan for 10 seconds on Speed 9

4.  Remove parmesan from the Thermomix and place in a small bowl.

5.  Add the onion and garlic to the Thermomix.  There is no need to clean out the bowl between steps.

6.  Chop on Speed 5 for a few seconds.  You will know when it’s done as the sound will noticeably change.

7.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl with the spatula and add the oil.

8.  Saute for 2 minutes at 100C on Speed soft.

9.  Put in the butterfly, and add the rice and wine.

10.  Saute for 2 minutes at 100C on Speed soft/Reverse.

11. Add in the stock and water (or liquid stock).

Note: I put some of my pumpkin in at this stage as well as I was interested to see how it would cook in the Thermomix as compared to the oven.  You can omit this stage if you like, or you could add all the pumpkin at this point instead of baking it.

12.  Cook for 16 minutes at 100C on Speed soft/Reverse. I put the basket on top of the lid to avoid splatter.

When it is done, it will look a bit more watery than you’d expect.  Don’t worry about this, as it will thicken up during the next step.

13.  Place the baby spinach into the Thermoserver and pour the risotto on top.  If you have baked the pumpkin, you can add it to the risotto at this point.

14. Wait around 5-10 minutes, or until the risotto has thickened up.

15.  Add around 2/3 of the parmesan cheese, and freshly ground salt and pepper to taste. Stir.

16. Serve in a bowl with some of the leftover parmesan on top. Enjoy!

Verdict:  The flavours were great, but I still found the rice a little gluggy for my tastes.  I think I will have to keep on experimenting with the amount of liquid in Thermomix risottos.  I should probably ask my consultant what she did, as hers was fab!

About foodfilanderer

Enthusiastic about great food. Dedicated to posting great Thermomix recipes.
This entry was posted in Thermomix Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

